Asher’s Art Gallery (Mondays)

Hello fellow art lovers! It’s Monday, and my gallery is open once again! I hope you guys are ready for some new pieces. Now, have fun exploring my gallery!

  • Frizz by Larry Carlson chromogenic print on paper 2009 (info about art piece found on Larry Carlson’s website larrycarlson.com) Here we have another fantastic art piece by “Computer Guru”, Larry Carlson. This work blends trippy patterns with human profiles. The center of the piece portrays a green-eyed female face surrounded by psychedelic electricity. As always, Carlson’s brilliant use of colors is a wonderful sight to behold. This is definitely a piece that I could see on a T-shirt, and I absolutely adore it. Tell me what you think of this piece in the comments’ section below.

 

LARRY CARLSON, FRIZZ - 9, c-print, 30x34in., 2009.

 

 

  • Battle of Fishes by Andre Masson 1926 Sand, gesso, oil, pencil, and charcoal on canvas (info about piece found on moma.org) This is a very unique piece by “French Surrealist”, Andre Masson. The figures in the work remind me of deep sea fish, and the style of drawing is very similar to my own. This is one of the instances when less color can create more emotion. The use of sand is absolutely fantastic, and really adds to the aquatic theme. The “fish” look more like ferocious, razor-toothed beasts, and I believe that this relates to the dangers of the ocean. I would love to hear your opinions in the comments’ section below.

battle of the fishes

 

Leave a Reply

